• newsbanner45.jpg
  • newsbanner30.jpg
  • newsbanner43.jpg
  • newsbanner24.jpg
  • newsbanner35.jpg
  • newsbanner10.jpg
  • newsbanner36.jpg
  • newsbanner2.jpg
  • newsbanner53.jpg
  • newsbanner46.jpg
  • newsbanner39.jpg
  • newsbanner13.jpg
  • newsbanner37.jpg
  • newsbanner11.jpg
  • newsbanner57.jpg
  • newsbanner59.jpg
  • newsbanner34.jpg
  • newsbanner58.jpg
  • newsbanner12.jpg
  • newsbanner25.jpg

European Shipyards In Joint Move To Address Market Disruption

The CESA General Assembly have confirmed two new, full members.

Two additional national associations, the Lithuanian Association of Shipbuilders and Shiprepairers (LLSRA) and the Bulgarian National Association of Shipbuilding and Shiprepair (BULNAS) have been confirmed by the CESA General Assembly to become full members. Representatives and member companies of a total of 16 national associations met in Bucharest for their 2009 Annual Meeting. The key topic of the gathering was the financial and economic crisis and its deep impact on the global shipbuilding industry.


European shipyards remain fully committed to address the challenges with a joint European approach, for which the existing framework of LeaderSHIP 2015 serves as the ideal platform. CESA urges European and Member States’ policy makes to likewise commit to joint European solutions. The medium-long term course for LeaderSHIP 2015 requires further seamless determination aiming at leading edge competitiveness. In addition, intensive work is put on track to develop acute crisis response and provide tangible short-medium term support.


An additional press communication will be issued on this process in the coming days.


The General Assembly elected Frederico Spranger, CEO of Lisnave, Portugal, as its new Vice Chairman representing the Ship Maintenance Repair and Conversion segment. Mr. Spranger succeeds Werner Lueken, Managing Partner of Lloydwerft, Germany, who was thanked for his successful office term of the past two years. All other CESA office holders, i.e. Chairman Kommer Damen, Vice Chairman Bernard Meyer, Honorary Chairman Corrado Antonini and Secretary General Reinhard Lueken will continue in their functions.


Bucharest, 28 May 2009



For more information please contact:


Dr. Reinhard Lüken

Secretary General

Tel.: +32 2 230 32 87

Fax: +32 2 230 43 32

E-mail:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

« Go back


Danish Maritime
Symfonivej 18, 2730 Herlev

Tel.: 33 13 24 16
Fax: 33 11 10 96
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Danish Maritime
79, Rue du Cornet, 1040 Bruxelles

Tel.: +32 (02) 230 6934